Aller directement au contenu
One half of the double lounge and dining roomNew bathroom with rainforest shower (like a gentle waterfall!)
Maison entière

Art Deco inner city house with pool

Art Deco inner city house with pool

4 voyageurs
3 chambres
3 lits
1,5 salle de bain
4 voyageurs
3 chambres
3 lits
1,5 salle de bain

Le logement

Short version: This is a great 3br house for summer or winter. We are looking for long-stayers in winter - nothing less than a week and we will offer a good discount for someone who wants to stay up to 3 months.
It will be available from late May 2017 through to the beginning of September and would suit a family needing a furnished home with three bedrooms. Are you renovating or relocating to Sydney's inner west? This would suit you very well - very close to transport and shops.
Our preferred tenant will be a non-smoking family, with good references and no pets (although you can ask us about that). The more you tell us about yourselves, the more likely we are to agree. It would suit a couple with two non-toddler kids, but let us know if you need more beds and we'll see what we can do. We've had younger children stay but there are stairs to block off etc. It's in a quiet area of the very desirable inner-west, close to transport and shops with fast broadband and two Foxtel (cable TV) setups. We can discuss the price if you want a long stay - otherwise airbnb tells you that when you request dates.

Long version: The house was built in 1919 for the Commissioner of Railways. It's in 'Californian bungalow' style – an Australian-specific description, since no-one in California knows what we mean – but it has high ceilings, art deco dark wood trim above and below, leadlight windows, polished timber floors. The small front garden leads to a verandah (one step) and front door, then an entrance hall that runs down the centre of the building, with bedrooms to the right and living rooms to the left, all on the same level. The carpeted front bedroom, the largest, has a king size double bed and built-in wardrobe, plus a large chest of drawers. The next bedroom, slightly smaller but also carpeted, has a double bed and built-in wardrobe, plus bookshelves and desk. These are the only carpeted rooms. The third bedroom has a sofabed.
The lovely double lounge room has a long dining table that seats 12 comfortably, a piano, and two sofas in the other half, for watching the widescreen TV (cable, Blue Ray, even VHS). We put in a modern stainless steel kitchen about ten years ago that looks through an opening onto the second living area, with a couch and another widescreen modern TV set up (again full cable, DVD player etc). That back room opens to a balcony with herb pots and barbecue, and 12 wide wooden stairs down into the garden.

The garden has an outdoor table and chairs and an 11-metre pool with new new glass fence. The pool is maintained by a pool company. We use the converted garage as an office and home gym, and this is usually locked as it's my office. There is another garden area behind the pool. It’s a big backyard but it is fully enclosed with a brick fence two metre high, lockable gates and good privacy. It is perfectly safe for children because there is a lockable gate to the pool. A separate downstairs laundry with washing machine and dryer has an extra toilet and shower, which we mainly use after swimming. Bicycles may be available by arrangement.

The bathroom upstairs was completely remodelled in 2008 with a fabulous ‘rainforest’ shower head (but no bath). High speed wireless internet works throughout the house. It's a great house, very comfortable and well maintained. The backyard in warmer months is superb for outdoor living, with pool and dinners under big umbrellas and palm trees, with lots of birds visiting the bird bath.

Our suburb is 8kms from the centre of Sydney, in the fashionable and funky inner-western suburbs. The Italian quarter of Leichhardt is 1.5 km away, where there is a good cinema and lots of restaurants, but there are plenty of good restaurants and cafes right here. The NY Times recently devoted a page to the joys of eating ethnic food in our high street - Italian delis, Portuguese bread, Vietnamese Pho and much more.

The train station is 10 minutes walk, and takes 15 minutes to the city; the new tram is about the same distance and takes a little longer but goes to useful places like the fish markets; buses are 1 minute from the door. We are 25 minutes drive to the beaches, with lots of parks and other pools nearby. Our street is fairly quiet, with an interesting mix of people - migrants, yuppies, lots of young people with children. Safe and friendly. There are four schools in the street. The supermarket, butcher, bakeries, delis and bookshop etc are a five minute walk.

Équipements

Parking gratuit sur place
Wi-Fi
Télévision par câble
Piscine
Cuisine
Espace de travail pour ordinateur portable

Couchages

Chambre 1
1 lit king size
Chambre 2
1 lit double
Chambre 3
1 canapé convertible

Règlement intérieur

Non fumeur
Ne convient pas aux animaux
Pas de fête ni de soirée
L'entrée dans les lieux se fait entre 14:00 et 18:00
Départ avant 10:00

15 commentaires

Précision
Communication
Propreté
Emplacement
Arrivée
Qualité-prix
Profil utilisateur de Ciara
Ciara
janvier 2018
Lovely house, great outside space with excellent sized pool. Good location for exploring the city and surrounds. Great timely communication. Would recommend highly.
Profil utilisateur de Aaron
Aaron
septembre 2017
Long story short, after being stranded in Sydney with my family (including 16 month old baby), Paul went above and beyond to accommodate us. The home it's self was filled with character and was very comfortable. The bed was great, and much needed after our long days exploring bea…
Profil utilisateur de Kitty
Kitty
septembre 2017
Very close to a bus stop, only 2-3 min walk, can catch 428 and go to Sydney uni, fish market and city as well.
Profil utilisateur de Antonio
Antonio
août 2017
This house was stunning, spacious and well connected, with the light rail only 10 mins walk then a 20 min tram ride to the centre. We felt very much at home, as did the children. Communication was prompt and the instructions provided on how to operate devices and appliances were…
Profil utilisateur de Nick
Nick
juillet 2017
Very happy with this house. Great value. Nice and big inside, loved the backyard and two seperate living areas.
Profil utilisateur de David
David
juillet 2017
This is a excellent property for a large family/group with easy transport connections to Sydney centre.
Profil utilisateur de Larissa
Larissa
juin 2017
We had a great stay, location is great within walking distance to both train and light rail stations. Our kids loved the extra space having a back yard. Would definitely stay again.

Hôte : Paul

Dulwich Hill, AustralieMembre depuis août 2012
Profil utilisateur de Paul
180 commentaires
Paul est un SuperhostLes Superhosts sont des hôtes expérimentés qui bénéficient de très bonnes évaluations et qui s'engagent à offrir d'excellents séjours aux voyageurs.
Paul and Mary are an English-Australian couple, Mary providing the English part. Mary is a consultant working mainly with government. Paul is a journalist.
Langues : Español, Français
Taux de réponse : 100%
Délai de réponse : Moins d'une heure
Communiquez toujours via AirbnbPour protéger votre paiement, ne transférez jamais d'argent et n'établissez pas de contact en dehors du site ou de l'application Airbnb.

Le quartier

Appuyez sur la touche Flèche vers le bas pour intervenir sur le calendrier et sélectionner une date. Appuyez sur la touche Point d'interrogation afin d'afficher les raccourcis clavier pour modifier les dates.

Arrivée

Appuyez sur la touche Flèche vers le bas pour intervenir sur le calendrier et sélectionner une date. Appuyez sur la touche Point d'interrogation afin d'afficher les raccourcis clavier pour modifier les dates.

Départ
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez

Logements similaires