Trust & Safety

Your safety is our priority

Creating a world where anyone can truly belong requires a foundation of trust grounded in consistent expectations of host and guest behaviour. We’ve established these Community Standards to help guide behaviour and codify the values that underpin our global community.

This is a living document, as we’re constantly refining our approach to meet the needs of our community. But these five standards—safety, security, fairness, authenticity, and reliability—remain central pillars in our efforts to help ensure safety and foster belonging. We’re always working to make sure they’re upheld and enforced.

Safety

Your Airbnb experience begins the moment you embrace adventure. That’s only possible when you trust this community and feel safe. As a result, we require that you refrain from endangering or threatening anyone.

Harming yourself or others

You should not commit physical or sexual assault, sexual abuse, sexual harassment, domestic violence, robbery, human trafficking, other acts of violence, or hold anyone against their will. Members of dangerous organisations, including terrorist, organized criminal, and violent racist groups, are not welcome in this community. Airbnb is committed to working with law enforcement as appropriate and responding to valid law enforcement requests.

We take suicide, self-injury, eating disorders, and hard drug abuse extremely seriously and work to help people in crisis.

Threatening anyone

You should not convey an intent to harm anyone by your words or physical actions. We also take threats of self-harm as seriously as we do actions and may intervene if we become aware of a threat.

Creating hazardous situations

You should not keep unsecured weapons, disease risks, or dangerous animals in your listing, nor should you create conditions that increase the likelihood of a fire or impede escape in the event of emergency.

Security

Our Airbnb community members share their homes, neighbourhoods, and experiences. Whether you’re opening your home as a host or experiencing a host’s hospitality as a guest, you should trust that you will feel secure. We ask you to respect others’ property, information, and personal belongings.

Theft, vandalism, or extortion

You should not take property that isn’t yours, use someone’s property without their permission, copy others’ keys or identity documents, damage others’ property, remain in listings after a stay is concluded, or threaten anyone with bad ratings or any other penalty or harm to obtain compensation or other benefits.

Spam, phishing, or fraud

You should not make transactions outside of Airbnb’s payments system; commit booking fraud, credit card fraud, or launder money; attempt to drive traffic to other sites or market unrelated products; divert payments meant for others; abuse our referrals system; or make false claims against other members of the community.

Violating others’ privacy or intellectual property rights

You should not spy on other people; cameras are not allowed in your listing unless they are previously disclosed and visible, and they are never permitted in private spaces (such as washrooms or sleeping areas). You should not access others’ accounts without authorisation or violate others’ privacy, copyrights, or trademarks.

Fairness

The global Airbnb community is as diverse, unique, and vibrant as the world around us. Fairness is what holds us together, what makes it possible for us to trust one another, integrate seamlessly within communities, and feel as if can we can truly belong.

Discriminatory behaviour or hate speech

You should treat everyone with respect in every interaction. So, you should follow all applicable laws and not treat others differently because of their race, ethnicity, national origin, religious affiliation, sexual orientation, sex, gender, gender identity, disability, or serious diseases. Similarly, insulting others on these bases is not allowed.

Bullying or harassing others

You should not share personal information to shame or blackmail others, target others with unwanted behaviour, defame others, or violate our review and content standards.

Disturbing the surrounding community

You should not disturb common spaces, treat neighbours as “front desk staff,” create a pervasive nuisance for those around you, or persistently fail to respond to neighbour or community concerns.

Authenticity

Your Airbnb experiences should be full of delightful moments and surprising adventures. Since our community is built on trust, authenticity is essential—it requires a balance of shared expectations, honest interactions, and accurate details.

Misrepresenting yourself

You should not provide a false name or date of birth, use listings for commercial purposes without your host’s permission, have events or parties without your host’s approval, maintain duplicate accounts, or create an account if you’re under 18.

Misrepresenting your spaces

You should not provide inaccurate location information, have incorrect availability, mislead people about the type, nature, or details of your listing, substitute one listing for another, set up fake or fraudulent listings, leave fraudulent reviews, engage in deceptive pricing, or fail to disclose hazards and habitability issues.

Experiences that are merely transactions

Airbnb began as a way to allow people to share their homes. Though Airbnb has grown since the early days, and home sharing has expanded around the world, we still expect that every listing is not just a transaction, but a place for others to belong.

Reliability

Every Airbnb experience is unique and each detail specific to a home, a neighbourhood, and a host. Since our community makes commitments based on these details, we have to be able to trust each other’s reliability—whether it be in timely communication, the condition of the home, or in the expectations we set.

Providing uninhabitable spaces

You should not provide spaces with sub-standard cleanliness or undisclosed lack of running water or electricity. You should not provide spaces that are not legitimate sleeping quarters (e.g. camping gear), not stationary for the duration of the stay (e.g. moving boats), or lack access to dedicated restroom facilities (e.g. directing guests to use public washrooms).

Breaking commitments

Absent extenuating circumstances, you should not cancel after the deadline set in the relevant cancellation policy. You should also not fail to make check-in possible, fail to pay, or break the host’s house rules.

Being unresponsive

You should not have persistently and pervasively low ratings, be unresponsive during booking or throughout a stay, fail to provide an adequate point of contact for hosting, or refuse to participate in our resolution process.

Confiance et sécurité

Votre sécurité est notre priorité

La création d'un sentiment d'inclusion pour chacun exige une base de confiance fondée sur des attentes constantes en matière de comportement des hôtes et des voyageurs. On a établi ces normes communautaires pour guider les comportements et codifier les valeurs qui sous-tendent notre communauté mondiale.

Ce document est évolutif, car nous améliorons constamment notre approche pour répondre aux besoins de notre communauté. Mais ces cinq normes : sûreté, sécurité, équité, authenticité et fiabilité, demeurent au cœur de nos efforts pour assurer la sécurité et favoriser l'appartenance. Nous travaillons en permanence à leur application la plus stricte.

Sécurité

Votre expérience Airbnb débute avec un élan de passion. C'est pourquoi vous devez pouvoir faire confiance à cette communauté et vous sentir en sécurité. Par conséquent, nous exigeons de vous que vous vous absteniez de mettre en danger ou de menacer autrui.

Violences envers vous-même ou autrui

Vous ne devez pas commettre d’agressions physiques, de violences sexuelles, d'abus sexuels, de harcèlement sexuel, de violences conjugales, de vols, de trafic d'êtres humains ou d'autres actes de violence, ni retenir autrui contre son gré. Les membres d'organisations dangereuses, telles que les groupes terroristes, le crime organisé et les groupes racistes violents ne sont pas acceptés dans la communauté Airbnb. Airbnb s'engage à travailler avec les forces de l'ordre pour répondre aux demandes relatives à l'application de la loi.

Nous prenons le suicide, l'automutilation, les troubles du comportement alimentaire et l'utilisation de drogues dures très au sérieux et nous nous efforçons d'aider ceux qui se trouvent dans ces situations.

Menaces envers les autres

Vous ne devez pas menacer de nuire à autrui verbalement ou physiquement. Nous traitons également toutes les menaces de violence avec le même sérieux, qu'elles soient dirigées contre vous-même ou autrui, et nous intervenons si nous en prenons connaissance.

Création de situations dangereuses

Vous ne devez pas garder d’armes non sécurisées, ni introduire de risques de maladie ou d’animaux dangereux dans votre logement, ni créer de conditions qui augmentent la probabilité d’un incendie ou empêchent l’évacuation en cas d’urgence.

Sécurité

Les membres de la communauté Airbnb partagent leurs logements, leurs quartiers et leurs expériences. Que ce soit en ouvrant vos portes comme hôte ou en tant que voyageur, il faut que vous puissiez vous sentir en confiance. On vous demande de respecter la propriété, les informations et les effets personnels des autres.

Vol, vandalisme ou extorsion

Vous ne devez pas vous approprier des biens qui ne vous appartiennent pas, utiliser les biens d'une personne sans son consentement, copier les clés ou les pièces d'identité d'une personne, endommager les biens d'une personne, rester dans un logement au-delà de la date limite du séjour, ou menacer de donner une mauvaise évaluation ou d'exercer des représailles pour obtenir une compensation ou un autre avantage.

Pourriel, hameçonnage et fraude

Vous ne devez pas réaliser de transactions en dehors d’Airbnb, commettre une fraude à la réservation ou à la carte de crédit, blanchir de l’argent, essayer de rediriger le trafic vers d’autres sites ou produits sans relation avec l’hébergement, détourner des paiements, abuser de notre système de parrainage ni faire de fausses déclarations contre d’autres membres de la communauté.

Porter atteinte à la vie privée d'autrui ou aux droits de propriété intellectuelle

Vous ne devez pas espionner d’autres personnes; les caméras ne sont pas autorisées dans votre logement sauf si vous en divulguez l’existence et les rendez visibles. Elles ne sont pas autorisées dans les espaces privés (comme une salle de bain ou une chambre). Vous ne devez pas accéder aux comptes d’autres membres sans autorisation ni violer la vie privée, les droits de propriété intellectuelle ou ceux de marque d’autrui.

Équité

La communauté Airbnb est à l’image du monde qui nous entoure : diverse, unique et dynamique. Le respect est ce qui nous unit et nous permet de nous intégrer facilement au sein d’autres communautés. Cette notion de respect est également essentielle pour que chacun puisse se sentir accepté partout.

Comportement discriminatoire et discours haineux

Il faut traiter chaque personne avec respect en toute circonstances. Il est donc important de suivre toutes les lois applicables et de ne pas traiter différemment des personnes en raison de leur couleur de peau, appartenance ethnique, origine nationale, religion, orientation sexuelle, genre, identité sexuelle, handicap ou maladie grave. De même, aucune insulte liée à ces sujets ne sera tolérée.

Intimidation ou harcèlement

Vous ne devez pas partager d’informations personnelles dans le but d’humilier une personne ou de lui faire du chantage, viser d’autres personnes avec un comportement non désiré, diffamer d’autres personnes ni enfreindre nos pratiques en matière de commentaires ou de contenus.

Perturbation du voisinage

Il faut éviter de perturber les espaces communs, d'importuner les voisins pour solliciter des services, de déranger constamment ceux qui vous entourent, ou de refuser de répondre aux inquiétudes des voisins ou de la communauté.

Authenticité

Vos expériences Airbnb devraient être pleines de moments enchanteurs et d'aventures inusitées. Notre communauté repose sur un lien de confiance et l’authenticité est essentielle; nous attendons de vous que vous trouviez un équilibre entre bonne entente, échanges honnêtes et informations précises.

Présentation mensongère de vous-même

Vous ne devez pas fournir un faux nom ou une fausse date de naissance, utiliser un logement à des fins commerciales sans l’autorisation de votre hôte, organiser des événements ou des fêtes sans l'accord de votre hôte, avoir des comptes en double ni créer un compte si vous avez moins de 18 ans.

Présentation mensongère de vos logements

Vous ne devez pas fournir d'informations de localisation imprécises, entrer de disponibilités inexactes, décrire incorrectement le type, la nature ou les détails du logement, remplacer une annonce par une autre, publier des annonces fausses ou frauduleuses, laisser de faux commentaires, recourir à des pratiques trompeuses en matière de prix ni manquer d’informer les voyageurs de dangers ou de problèmes d’habitabilité.

Des expériences se résumant à des transactions

Au départ, Airbnb était un moyen de permettre aux gens de partager leur logement. Même si depuis, nous avons connu une forte croissance et que le concept de partage de logement s'est développé à travers le monde, nous voulons que les logements ne se résument pas à de simples transactions, mais deviennent de véritables chez-soi.

Fiabilité

Chaque expérience Airbnb est unique et chaque logement, quartier et hôte a ses particularités. Notre communauté s'appuie sur ces particularités pour prendre des engagements, et la fiabilité des échanges est donc un point crucial, qu'elle s'applique à la description d'une annonce, à l'état d'un logement ou aux attentes que nous établissons.

Fournir des logements inhabitables

Vous ne devez pas proposer de logements à la propreté douteuse ou dépourvus d'eau courante et d'électricité sans que cela ne soit précisé dans l'annonce. Vous ne devez pas proposer de logements à la propreté douteuse, dépourvus d’eau courante et d’électricité sans que cela ne soit précisé dans l’annonce, qui ne constituent pas une habitation (par exemple, du matériel de camping) ou qui ne sont pas un lieu fixe (par exemple, un bateau non amarré).

Non-respect des engagements

Sauf en cas de force majeure, on vous demande de ne pas annuler en dehors des limites définies dans les conditions d’annulation de l’annonce. Il faut également respecter les procédures d'entrée dans les lieux, payer les sommes dues, et ne pas enfreindre les règles de la maison de l'hôte.

Manque de réactivité

Vous ne devez pas recevoir de mauvaises évaluations de manière fréquente et prolongée, manquer de réactivité lors de la réservation ou du séjour, omettre de fournir les coordonnées de rassemblement pendant le séjour des voyageurs ni refuser de participer à notre processus de résolution de différends.